Her: A Memoir

Christa Parravani

 We're sorry! This product is not available. 

Description & Features+

A BLAZINGLY PASSIONATE MEMOIR OF IDENTITY AND LOVE: WHEN A CHARASMATIC AND TROUBLED YOUNG WOMAN DIES TRAGICALLY, HER IDENTICAL TWIN MUST STRUGGLE TO SURVIVE.Christa Parravani and her identical twin, Cara, were linked by a bond that went beyond siblinghood, beyond sisterhood, beyond friendship. Raised up from poverty by a determined single mother, the gifted and beautiful twins shielded each other from family violence and loss with playfulness and creativity then earned scholarships at a prestigious college and began careers as artists (a photographer and a writer, respectively). But when Cara fell victim to a shocking act of brutality, she became unable to keep her demons at bay; she veered off the path to robust work and life and into depression, drugs and a shocking early death.Studies of twins have shown that when an identical twin dies, regardless of the cause, the surviving twin's life is immediately at risk. First, Christa fought to keep her sister alive; then she struggled to keep from drowning in her loss.Beautifully written, mesmerizingly rich and true, Christa Parravani's account of being left, one half of a whole, and of her desperate, ultimately triumphant struggle for survival is informative, heart-wrenching and unforgettably beautiful.? For readers of Jeannette Walls and Mary Karr

Specifications+

Format
Paperback
ISBN-13
9781250044396
Language
English
Manufacturer/Publisher
Picador
Author(s)/editor(s)
Christa Parravani
Release date
2014-02-25
Brand
n/a
Product Identifiers
Walmart Item #
30863688
UPC
978125004439
SKU
10296975

From the Manufacturer +

Ratings & Reviews+

Q & A+

:

Phone:

Store details