Johnny Griffin Quartet Unpretentious Delights CD

By Generic

Sold and shipped by

$ 30.77 In Stock

Oh no! The item you are looking at is out of stock online.
Enter your email address and we’ll notify you if the item comes back in stock in the next 30 days.

Please enter a valid email address.
Please select a specific item above, including all attributes such as size and colour.
The service is currently unavailable. Please try back again later.
Add to List
Where can you get it? When can you get it? How much does it cost?

from your location

How can you get it? When can you get it? How much does it cost?
Where can you get it? Is it available? What is the price in-store?

Description & Features+

Johnny Griffin Quartet Unpretentious Delights CD. Personnel: Johnny Griffin (saxophone); Pat Coil (piano); Marc Johnson (bass); Art Taylor (drums).

Recorded in Warsaw, Poland in October 1978.
Personnel: Johnny Griffin (tenor saxophone); Pat Coil (piano); Art Taylor (drums).
Recording information: Warsaw, Poland (10/1978).
Photographer: Hans Harzheim.
This nearly hour-long set by Johnny Griffin comes from a 1978 concert in Warsaw. The Little Giant is in great form, though the track listing on the rear of CD is bound to confuse first-time listeners. The opening set begins with a four minutes of a chant-like vamp, before segueing directly into a lively arrangement of "A Night in Tunisia," which will definitely surprise anyone expecting "Body and Soul" (which is incorrectly labeled as track one); both pianist Pat Coil and drummer Art Taylor are also featured to good effect. Griffin's explosive take of "All the Things You Are" takes no prisoners, following it with lyrical interpretation of "Body and Soul." Although Griffin's tenor sax is well recorded, both the piano and bass suffer from distortion at times, so that should be taken into account before purchasing this CD. ~ Ken Dryden


Product Identifiers
Model #

Return Policy+

Retrieving the return policy from this seller

If you buy something online but it's not everything you dreamed it to be, no worries! We're here for you.


 > Return Policy

You can return this item within 90 days from the day you receive your online order.

There are two easy ways to return this item:

  • Return this item to a Walmart store
  • Return this item by mail

From the Manufacturer +

Ratings & Reviews+

Q & A+



Store details